• Wednesday, Feb 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 10:30 pm

Bomb attack on Chittagong court: 3 JMB militants get 14 years in jail

  • Published at 07:12 pm September 26th, 2017
  • Last updated at 07:53 pm September 26th, 2017
Bomb attack on Chittagong court: 3 JMB militants get 14 years in jail
A Chittagong court sentenced three members of outlawed militant outfit Jama’atul Mujahideen Bangladesh (JMB) to 14 years in prison for carrying out a bomb attack on a court in the district in 2005. Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Shahadat Hossain Bhuiyan pronounced the verdict on Tuesday, sentencing them to seven years in prison in each of the two cases filed over the attack. The convicts are JMB Chittagong Regional Commander Jabed Iqbal alias Mohammad, Tangail JMB member Shahadat and explosive expert Zahidul Islam alias Bomaru Mizan. Of the trio, Mizan is a fugitive and was tried in absentia. The other two are in jail. As many as 40 witnesses recorded their depositions, which began on January 27, 2008, in the two cases filed over the attack. Speaking to reporters after the verdict on Tuesday, prosecution counsel Saifun Nahar said the three convicts had also been fined Tk5,000 each, or an additional six months in prison in case of default. According to the case, the convicts hurled bombs at the courtrooms of then Chittagong metropolitan magistrate Akram Hossain and joint district judge Abu Syed Dilzar Hossain on October 3, 2005. No one was injured as the bombs did not explode. Mizan was arrested but was broken out of a prison van along with two other JMB leaders by their fellow operatives when they were being transported to a Mymensingh court from Kashimpur jail on February 23, 2014.